



Annual Meeting Highlights

PROGRAM CO-CHAIRS

Natalie Artzi, PhD, MIT Kaitlyn Sadtler, PhD, NIBIB/NIH



2025 KEYNOTE SPEAKER Michal Preminger, PhD, MBA

Michal is Regional Head of Johnson & Johnson Innovation, she leads the team to curate and cultivate the most promising, early-stage healthcare innovations in the region, spanning across pharmaceutical, consumer health and medical devices. Prior to joining Johnson & Johnson Innovation, Michal served as the Executive Director of Harvard University's Office of Technology Development (OTD) Harvard Medical School site, where she was responsible for development and commercialization of technologies emerging from research at HMS laboratories and for the strategy and execution of all industry collaborations. She negotiated agreements with major biopharma, life sciences, food and cosmetics companies to advance the translation of discoveries into products and create a revenue-generating product pipeline and worked with scientific founders and investors to create new startup companies. Michal serves on the Board of Directors for MassBio, the Kendall Square Association (KSA), and the Massachusetts Business Roundtable. She is also a member of the Advisory Board for the Binah Initiative at the Weizmann Institute of Science.

Michal holds M.Sc. and Ph.D. degrees in Biological Sciences from the Weizmann Institute of Science, an MBA from INSEAD, Fontainebleau, France, and a BA in Medicine from Hadassah Medical School, Hebrew University, Jerusalem.

PROGRAM COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Program Committee Members | Angela Throm, PhD | Ashley Brown, PhD | Brad Wood, MD | Claire Witherel, PhD | Michelle Teplensky, PhD | Mykel Green, PhD | Ngan Huang, PhD | Ritu Raman, PhD | Shreya Raghavan, PhD | Steven Zong, PhD | Susan Thomas, PhD

SFB Staff

Dan Lemyre, CAE, IOM | Shena Seppanen, CAE | Jessica Goodone | Tara Locantore Dana Groves

2025 Award Recipients



Founders Award

Nicholas P. Ziats, PhD, Case Western Reserve University Awardee Address: Friday, April 11, 2025 | Plenary Session III | 10:30 AM -12:30 PM CT



Technology, Innovation and Development Award

Ashutosh Chilkoti, PhD, Duke University Awardee Address: Thursday, April 10, 2025 | Plenary Session I | 10:30 AM -12:30 PM CT



Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion Award

BME UNITE Future Faculty Program BME 🥋 UNITE

Awardee Address: Thursday, April 10, 2025 | Plenary Session I | 10:30 AM -12:30 PM CT



Mid-Career Award

Cole A. DeForest, PhD, University of Washington Awardee Address: Thursday, April 10, 2025 | Plenary Session I | 10:30 AM -12:30 PM CT



Young Investigator Award

Brian Aguado, PhD, University of California San Diego Awardee Address: Thursday, April 10, 2025 | Plenary Session I | 10:30 AM -12:30 PM CT



Clemson Award for Applied Research

Ke Cheng, PhD, Columbia University Awardee Address: Friday, April 11, 2025 | Plenary Session III | 10:30 AM -12:30 PM CT



Clemson Award for Basic Research

Kara Spiller, PhD, Drexel University Awardee Address: Friday, April 11, 2025 | Plenary Session III | 10:30 AM -12:30 PM CT



Clemson Award for Contributions to Literature

Jeremy L. Gilbert, PhD, Clemson University

Awardee Address: Friday, April 11, 2025 | Plenary Session III | 10:30 AM -12:30 PM CT

2025.biomaterials.org



ANNUAL MEETING & EXPOSITION

APRIL 9-12, 2025 • HILTON CHICAGO



2025 KEYNOTE SPEAKER Chad Mirkin, PhD

Chad A. Mirkin, PhD is the Director of the International Institute for Nanotechnology and the George B. Rathmann Professor of Chemistry at Northwestern University. He is known for his invention and development of spherical nucleic acids, a foundation of the field of structural nanomedicine; his invention and development of Dip-Pen Nanolithography and related cantilever-free nanopatterning and materials discovery methodologies; the delineation of the concept of the nanoparticle "atom" and the nucleic acid "bond" that underpins colloidal crystal engineering with DNA; and contributions to nanoparticle synthesis and supramolecular chemistry. He has authored >900 papers and >1,200 patents and applications worldwide (>430 issued) and founded 11 companies. Prof. Mirkin has been recognized with over 250 national and international awards, including the Wilhelm Exner Medal, the Dan David Prize, the National Academy of Sciences Sackler Prize in Convergence Research, the Kavli Prize in Nanoscience, and the King Faisal Prize from the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. He served for eight years on the President's Council of Advisors on Science & Technology, and he is one of very few scientists to be elected to all three US National Academies. Mirkin has served on the Editorial Advisory Boards of over 30 scholarly journals, is the founding editor of the journal Small, was a Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. USA Editorial Board Member, and was an Associate Editor of Journal of the American Chemical Society. He has given >930 invited lectures worldwide and educated >340 graduate students and postdocs and thousands of undergraduate students. Founded in 2000 as an umbrella organization to coalesce and foster nanotechnology efforts, the International Institute for Nanotechnology represents and unites more than \$2.7 billion in nanotechnology research, educational programs, and supporting infrastructure.

2025 Award Winners

CONTINUED



Society For Biomaterials Award for Service

Shelly E. Sakiyama-Elbert, PhD, University of Washington
Award Recognition: Friday, April 11, 2025 | Annual Business Meeting | 3:30 PM-4:30 PM CT



C. William Hall Award

Jennifer E. Woodell-May, PhD, Zimmer Biomet

Award Recognition: Friday, April 11, 2025 | Annual Business Meeting | 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM CT

Student Award for Outstanding Research

PhD Candidate Category



Nghia Le Ba Thai, Syracuse University

Thursday, April 10, 2025 | $2:30 \, \text{PM} - 2:45 \, \text{PM}$ | Tissue Engineering SIG 2 | "Rapid Fabrication of Polyvinyl Alcohol Hydrogel Foams with Encapsulated Mesenchymal Stem Cells for Chronic Wound Treatment"



C. William Hall - Undergraduate Travel Scholarship

Benjamin Nachod, University of Pennsylvania

Thursday, April 10, 2025 | 6:00-7:30pm | POSTER #2P546 | "Steroid-Incorporated Lipid Nanoparticles for Anti-Inflammatory Delivery of mRNA"



Cato T. Laurencin, MD, PhD - Undergraduate Travel Fellowship

 $Milani\ Needam, North\ Carolina\ A\&T\ State\ University$

Wednesday, April 9, 2025 | 6:30-8:00pm | POSTER #1P627 | "Evaluation of Controlled Release Curcumin from Electrospun Nanofibrous Mesh for Accelerating Infected Wound Healing"



Acta Biomaterialia Gold Medal

Frederick J. Schoen, MD, PhD, Brigham and Women's Hospital, Harvard Medical School Awardee Address: Thursday, April 10, 2025 | Plenary Session II | 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM CT



Acta Biomaterialia Silver Medal

Karen Christman, PhD, University of California, San Diego

Awardee Address: Thursday, April 10, 2025 | Plenary Session II \mid 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM CT



Acta Materialia Mary Fortune Global Diversity Medal

 $\label{linear} \begin{tabular}{ll} Elizabeth Cosgriff-Hernandez, PhD, The University of Texas at Austin \\ Awardee Address: Thursday, April 10, 2025 | Plenary Session II | 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM CT | Plenary Session II | 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM CT | Plenary Session II | 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM CT | Plenary Session II | 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM CT | Plenary Session II | 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM CT | Plenary Session II | 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM CT | Plenary Session II | 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM CT | Plenary Session II | 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM CT | Plenary Session II | 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM CT | Plenary Session II | 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM CT | Plenary Session II | 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM CT | Plenary Session II | 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM CT | Plenary Session II | 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM CT | Plenary Session II | 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM CT | Plenary Session II | 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM CT | Plenary Session II | 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM CT | Plenary Session II | 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM CT | Plenary Session II | 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM - 6:00$